You see, it’s alright when a white guy clutches their bag tight when I pass by ’cause I am black
It’s alright when a white guy looks at a translator when he wants to talk to me ’cause I am black
It’s alright when he says I am trying to steal from him when I am selling anything to him cause I am black
It’s alright when that Indian guy calls my sports tutor to confirm I am a student even when I have my students id cause I am black
It’s okay when Chinese guy looks at me and turns away cause I am black
It’s okay when he explains in his broken English the basics in simple jobs cause I am black
It’s even okay when the black guy will serve the white, the Asian, the Chinese first because I am black
It’s okay if I take a longer queue because I am black
I am black and I love it.
I am black and I don’t regret it
I am black and you react the way you want because I am black, I don’t really care
However, it’s not okay to put a curfew in a Chinese restaurant in my black country
It’s not okay when I can’t be anywhere I want in my black country
It’s not okay when you insult me because I am black
It’s not okay to think because I am black I am going to take a direct insult
I will let the minors pass but don’t dare turn to me, because you see my friend, white, Chinese, Asian or whatever I am not dumb, neither am I emotionless
Don’t dare think you are any superior, feel free to be in my country
But don’t poke my nose, let there be mutual respect
And a little reminder my friend, beneath that white skin, is blood as it’s beneath my black skin

Posted from WordPress for Android

